What are PHYLUMS?

FIRST, what is TAXONOMY? You can find that by clicking here on the word TAXONOMY.
But a hint is that essentially it is the study of the placement of living things into their niche with similar living things.

Phylums are the largest breakdown of Kingdoms. There are usually recognized to be five Kingdoms:

  1. Animalia (Animals)
  2. Fungi
  3. Monera (Archea and Bacteria)
  4. Plantae (Plant)
  5. Protista (Animal-like, Plant-like, & Fungus-like)

Phylums are then broken down into a number of sub-categories with the bottom of the line being the Genus and species {which are always in lower case letters and usually in italics}.

Contemporary human beings (modern) all belong to the same species, from Eskimos to Nigerians, from Arabs to Americans, from Filipinos to Chinese--we are all one species of living things.

Contemporary humans are shown in the following breakdown from Kingdom to species:

Kingdom Animalia
Phylum Chordata
Class Mammalia
Order Primate
Family Hominidae
Genus Homo
Species sapiens

Let us now compare three other animals:

Organism Chimpanzee Southern Leopard Frog Katydid
Kingdom Animalia Animalia Animalia
Phylum Chordata Chordata Arthropoda
Subphylum Vertebrata Vertebrata Uniramia
Class Mammalia Amphibia Insecta
Order Primates Anura Orthoptera
Family Hominidae Ranidae Tettigoniidae
Genus Pan Rana Scudderia
Species troglodytes pipiens furcata

This page is under construction and not complete. Thank you for your patience while we complete this and other pages.